The Wedding Singer Musical – The Curve

When I first saw that The Wedding Singer Musical was touring, I didn’t know what to think. Will it be as good as the movie? Will they pull the characters off? What songs are they going to sing? So I asked for tickets for Christmas – thanks dad!

My mum and I went on the last showing at The Curve, Leicester on Saturday 18th February and it was sold out. I won’t give too many spoilers away because the cast are still touring around the UK.

At first I can’t say I was enjoying it because I was constantly comparing it to the film as it is one of my favourite films. To be honest the start was quite slow and I had my fingers crossed that it wouldn’t be like this the whole way through. Well it definitely wasn’t!!!

I thought the acting and singing was incredible. The notes were pitch perfect and the songs made you clap along which is what going to a musical is all about. However, I expected a few more solos from Ray Quinn and I was sad he wasn’t singing as much (big fan). One HUGE disappoint for me was George didn’t sing ‘Do you really want to hurt me?’ – WHY NOT?! Why was this not key, everyone knows the scene and I was waiting for it throughout the whole performance.

Now I’d never heard of Cassie Compton but what a beautiful voice, she is very very talented. Her portrayal of Julia was fantastic, very ditsy but it was cute and she researched and observed her character – I could tell. Robbie Hart and Holly were also bloody brilliant. I can’t fault the cast at all, they work so well together.

My two favourite characters were George (of course) played by Samuel Holmes and Grandma Rosie, played by Ruth Madoc. They had a scene together that had me in stitches, it added a great twist to the show! I can’t say too much because this scene was so unexpected and I don’t want to ruin it for anyone else.

If this musical is in your area please do go and see it, support these upcoming actors / actresses. Just to pre warn you, you won’t be able to sing along to many of the songs!

xafmbkgi

Leave a Reply

